Talk to the Internet

TALK TO THE INTERNET: Grace Barber-Plentie (Reel Good Film Club)

gbp

In ‘Talk To The Internet’, we take the same 10 questions and one internet sensation to find out their loves, hates and their dream casts in the world of film.

Grace Barber-Plentie is part of the Reel Good Film Club, a group of 3 girls who organise non-profit screenings and events celebrating cinema by and starring people of colour. She’s also a writer with published pieces in the BFI, gal-dem, and Polyester to name a few and is a dedicated Channing Tatum enthusiast. She tweets (currently with a heavy pro-Moonlight and anti-La La Land vibe) at @gracesimone. Grace was featured in our list of ‘15 women critics you should be reading‘.

What’s your favourite film and why?

Every day I wake up hoping I will fall less and love in love with such a white male auteur bro choice, but my fav film now and forever is Paul Thomas Anderson’s Boogie Nights, which never fails to surprise white men for some reason. I’m always excited to watch it. I can always find something new in it. The soundtrack kills. The acting is amazing. I also think there’s something about how familiar I am with it – I get a stupid rush when I watch it and my favourite scenes are coming up.

What’s the worst film you’ve ever seen and why?

La La Land tbh – Ryan Gosling’s character, Sebastian, is THE ACTUAL WORST. The director needs to put some respect on John Legend’s name. All of Emma Stone’s dresses are ugly.

(La La Land is actually fine – it’s a very adequate 3 star film. I just really enjoy hating it.)

If you could make up your own imaginary film genre what would it be called?

Misandrist womanist horror films. Films about black women who love and support each other, but also happen to kill men. But in these films, the black characters actually make it to the end.

If you were given the opportunity to direct, who would you cast in your dream movie?

A dream film, something I fantasise about constantly, is a romantic comedy starring Michaela Coel and hot long haired/bearded Dev Patel. My favourite actor in the world, Keith Stanfield, plays the best friend. There’s an emotional reunion scene near the end that’s soundtracked by “Still Ray” By Raphael Saadiq. Probably in the rain. I really do think about this a lot.

Who is your favourite woman character from Film or TV?

Diane from Black-ish and Gina from Brooklyn 99 are the purest, most accurate representations of my soul I have ever seen onscreen.

In your opinion, what is a seriously under-rated cinematic masterpiece?

Patrik-Ian Polk’s Punks – it’s the most fun I’ve ever had in the cinema! It’s a queer black romantic comedy about a group of friends – one of whom has a Sister Sledge tribute act, can I just say – and the trials and tribulations of their friendships and romantic lives. While most of the film focuses on the romance, the film’s ending, where the group of friends drive off into the sunset whilst listening to Sister Sledge’s “We Are Family” really shows the film’s preoccupations. I watched it at BFI’s Flare festival in 2016 and longingly dream of the day I’ll get to watch it again.

Rank your top 3 films by your favourite director (if you have one!)

I don’t have a favourite director so I’m going to rank my favourite rom-coms, if I may.

1. When Harry Met Sally

2. Love Jones

3. It’s Complicated

What was the last film you watched?

One of my worst habits is that I never finish films. So the last film(s) I watched (and didn’t finish either sadly) are Hsiao-Hsien Hou’s Three Times, and seminal film John Tucker Must Die.

Favourite movie quote?

A ridiculous, Spike Lee-esque director casually drops the line “Did you catch that subtle mise-en-scene, mi amigo?” in Losing Ground, and it is EVERYTHING. I’ve also taken to reciting the “I’ve got two girlfriends, and I’m in a band” monologue from Manchester By The Sea to anyone who’ll listen.

And finally, what film are you most looking forward to in the near future?

The Queen Latifah/Jada Pinkett-Smith/Regina Hall vehicle Girl’s Trip, and Jordan Peele’s Get Out.

by Chloe Leeson


chloeChloe Leeson is the founder of Screenqueens. She is 21 and from the north of England (the proper north). She believes Harmony Korine is the future and is pretty sure she coined the term ‘selfie central’. She doesn’t like Pina Coladas or getting caught in the rain but she does like Ezra Miller a whole lot. Her favourite films are Into The Wild, The Beach and Lords of Dogtown. But DON’T talk to her about Paranormal Activity. She rants about cinema screenings @kawaiigoff.

Leave a Reply

