Talk to the Internet

TALK TO THE INTERNET: Holly Cassell (The Persephone Complex)

TTTI Holly Cassell

Artwork by Chloe Leeson

In ‘Talk To The Internet’, we take the same 10 questions and one internet sensation to find out their loves, their hates and their dream casts in the world of film.

Holly Cassell is a 24 year old blogger, photographer and artist. She runs her own blog The Persephone Complex where she muses on fashion, health/beauty sexuality and the latest events she’s attended. She also runs the #crazyblogger chat on twitter every Thursday night, as well as contributing to The Le Sigh and Style Vulture. She tweets @hollycassell.

1.What’s your favourite film and why?

The answer to this changes day by day, but the reply you would get on the majority of those days would probably be Rebecca, the Alfred Hitchcock version from 1940. Although Hitchcock isn’t a director I’m a fan of in general, but the movie is just spellbinding to me and is based on one of my favourite books. I love films that explore dark, complicated themes like jealousy and madness and murder, and I think both as a book and a movie, Rebecca is one of the best psycho-sexual dramas ever made.

2.What’s the worst film you’ve ever seen and why?

Christ, that’s a good question. I’ve seen more than my fair share of turkeys. The one that springs to mind is 300: Rise of an Empire. I found it so atrociously bad that sitting in the cinema watching it, I kept swinging between hysterical laughter and this intense anger and frustration that I had to endure this monstrosity. It was so heavy on the slow-mo that it got quite ridiculous, and had far too many predictable fight-that-turns-into-sex scenes. Yawn.

3.If you could make up your own imaginary film genre what would it be called?

I’d call it neon-fairytale, a phrase I use a lot to describe my own aesthetic. It would be futuristic, highly stylised interpretations of classic stories and fairytales. Imagine Sin City or Blade Runner but with heavy Snow White allegory.

4.If you were given the opportunity to direct, who would you cast in your dream movie?

Rose McGowan, Jennifer Lawrence, Susan Sarandon, Christopher Walken, Edward Norton, Tom Hardy. Now I think about it, that’d be one sexy movie.

5.Who is your favourite woman character from Film or TV?

Dana Scully. Every time. She is perfection.

6.In your opinion, what is a seriously under-rated cinematic masterpiece?

Deathproof, by Quentin Tarantino. Not a lot of people that I talk to are really familiar with it and even lots of people who love Tarantino’s work will not have seen this, but I think it’s easily as good as Pulp Fiction, and to be honest I find it much more enjoyable. The dialogue is fantastic, and it has a brilliant female ensemble cast (and Jeff Bridges as the bad guy).

7.Rank your top 3 films by your favourite director (if you have one!)

Wes Anderson is definitely one of my favourite directors, if not the top dog. I’d say Grand Budapest Hotel, Moonrise Kingdom, and The Royal Tenenbaums are my top three.

8.What was the last film you watched?

I went to see The Martian at the cinema recently, I found that quite enjoyable. I’m not really a big sci-fi or action fan but it was quite cinematically beautiful in moments and I do love Jessica Chastain.

9.Favourite movie quote?

It’s from Ghost World. Enid scrunches up a dollar bill and throws it in a guys face and he goes “Oh! Oh, how punk!”. I use it for everything.

10.And finally, what film are you most looking forward to in the near future?

I’m quite excited for Crimson Peak, I do enjoy a bit of Guillermo del Toro. He just gets me. If it’s even half as disturbing as Pan’s Labyrinth, I’ll be all over it.

By Chloe Leeson


 

CHLOEChloe Leeson is 19 and from the north of England (the proper north). She believes Harmony Korine is the future and is pretty sure she coined the term ‘selfie central’. She doesn’t like Pina Coladas or getting caught in the rain but she does like Ezra Miller & Dane DeHaan a whole lot. Her favourite films are The Beach, Lords of Dogtown and Into the Wild. But DON’T talk to her about Paranormal Activity. She rants @kawaiigoff.

Leave a Reply

