Talk to the Internet

TALK TO THE INTERNET: Beth Dunne (Cherry Mag)

TTTI Beth Dunner

Artwork by Chloe Leeson

In ‘Talk To The Internet’, we take the same 10 questions and one internet sensation to find out their loves, their hates and their dream casts in the world of film.

Beth Dunne is the founder and editor of Cherry Mag, a digital zine featuring prose, photography and various other writings, you can view it here. Beth is also a keen painter and photographer, having just shot The White Pepper’s latest collection!

Here Beth reveals her intense love of Frances Ha, Wes Anderson and looking forwards to The Hateful Eight….

1.What’s your favourite film and why?

Frances Ha! I have a bunch of favourite films, but this one’s the winner at the moment. It’s the perfect summer film and is responsible for my frequent dances through the streets whilst listening to Modern Love by David Bowie. I also never have a phone conversation with my sister without shouting ‘Yo girl, what’s up?!’ Last summer I even chose to write about it as the film that shaped my summer right here on Screenqueens!

2.What’s the worst film you’ve ever seen and why?

I think Horrible Bosses. Purely for the ongoing jokes about rape and sexual harassment. When Charlie Day’s character is being assaulted and manipulated by his boss, it’s seen as funny because he’s a guy so he’s supposed to want it and the joke is literally that his boss wants to rape him. What’s worse is my friend really loved the film and I had to pretend not to be horrified when watching it (sorry Abbie).

3.If you could make up your own imaginary film genre what would it be called?

I’m so stuck on this one! My favourite types of films are coming of age films, stuff like Kings of Summer, Palo Alto, Ginger and Rosa – but I always feel like they could have more diversity. I’m still waiting on a coming of age romance between two girls that isn’t ridiculously sexualised. So I don’t think it counts as an imaginary genre, it’s more just something I’d like to see in mainstream cinema.

4.If you were given the opportunity to direct, who would you cast in your dream movie?

Greta Gerwig because she has such a cool and funny vibe around her and I also would want to become her best friend, Elle Fanning because she’s so sweet and has so much talent, and then so many others like Alia Shawkat, Michael Cera, Richard Ayoade, Kristen Wiig, Bill Murray, I could do this for hours.

5.Who is your favourite woman character from Film or TV?

This is such a difficult question! But I think my heart lies with Tina Belcher, she knows what I’m about.

6.In your opinion, what is a seriously under-rated cinematic masterpiece?

Short Term 12, definitely. It’s about children in a care home before they find someone to look after them properly and Brie Larson gives such a genuine performance, it makes me cry every time. The cinematography is also brilliant and it just feels so real.

7.Rank your top 3 films by your favourite director (if you have one!)

I don’t think I have one favourite director, I just love a lot of them so I’m going to rank my favourite Wes Anderson films because I think I’ve loved him the longest:

1 – The Grand Budapest Hotel – it’s always worrying when a loved director brings out their next big film, because I set my expectations really high which almost always ends in disappointment, but GBH managed to exceed my expectations and also be the funniest Wes film in my opinion.

2 – The Royal Tenenbaums – it’s one of my official autumn films and I can relate to each of the Tenenbaum children in some way. I’ve also memorised the green line bus scene which is really annoying for anyone watching the film with me.

3 – Moonrise Kingdom – it was a close tie between this one and The Life Aquatic, but Moonrise Kingdom came to me at the right time in my life, so now I feel like it fits into part of my growing up.

8.What was the last film you watched?

Oh no I’ve chosen to do this at the wrong time because last night I had a sleepover with like 12 girls and we watched Wild Child. It’s so brilliantly bad and so 2008.

9.Favourite movie quote?

I’m going to have to go back to Frances Ha again, and quote Frances’ drunk speech about love: ‘It’s that thing when you’re with someone, and you love them and they know it, and they love you and you know it, but it’s a party! And you’re both talking to other people, and you’re laughing and shining… and you look across the room and catch each other’s eyes but – but not because you’re possessive, or it’s precisely sexual but because that is your person in this life. And it’s funny and sad, but only because this life will end, and it’s this secret world that exists right there in public, unnoticed, that no one else knows about. It’s sort of like how they say that other dimensions exist all around us, but we don’t have the ability to perceive them. That’s – That’s what I want out of a relationship. Or just life, I guess.’

10.And finally, what film are you most looking forward to in the near future?

It’s out already, but Diary of a Teenage Girl looks so good and I need to find the time to see it! I saw a poster and thought it would be an Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging style reboot, but the trailer is actually hilarious and looks like something I would love. I can’t wait to see Hateful Eight because I will watch anything by Quentin Tarantino and most likely love it. I also just watched a trailer for Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice which looks CHEESY and AMAZING. I have a weakness for the Batman trilogy, although I am noticing a lack of Morgan Freeman or Michael Caine in the trailer, so that may be a dealbreaker.

By Chloe Leeson


 

CHLOEChloe Leeson is 19 and from the north of England (the proper north). She believes Harmony Korine is the future and is pretty sure she coined the term ‘selfie central’. She doesn’t like Pina Coladas or getting caught in the rain but she does like Ezra Miller & Dane DeHaan a whole lot. Her favourite films are The Beach, Lords of Dogtown and Into the Wild. But DON’T talk to her about Paranormal Activity. She rants @kawaiigoff.

Leave a Reply

